G[r]o[w]ing

20190224_164413

Distance measures out in
mountains and pebbles
and ocean waves
Heights stretching through
peaks and treetops
and fingers of flower petals
reaching for one last bit
of sunshine
like roots searching ever
deeper in loamy soil
tasting every possible
drop of sustenance
tendrils spread as
moonbeams and starlight
across the heavy
expanse of night
through the thick
blanket of losing

– I look at the stars and wonder,
which will you be?

-KJ Roe

Author: KJ Roe

Welcome to Dreams of Shadow and Light. My name is KJ Roe. Among my many weaknesses, words, water, and chocolate are eclipsed only by time with loved ones. When I'm not writing, you might find me taking way too many pictures of sunsets or dancing in my kitchen. Words help me find my way through the dark times and to hold onto the bright ones. May you find here a bit of light for your shadows.

2 thoughts on “G[r]o[w]ing”

Leave a comment